I Love My Area

Having just moved to the east end of London from Melbourne to start a career in interior design, I am slowly discovering the most amazing places. The area really reminds me of Melbourne, in the way that you really do have to get off the beaten track and push open obscure doors, or dart off into a nondescript alley to discover fashion boutiques, cafes, restaurants, galleries and everything in between. It is clear that this is the place to be if you want to garner any kind of design kudos, and new stores are popping up all the time.

I bought a great little book called the London Style Guide by Saskia Graville and my lovely friend Grace gave me the London Design Guide by Max Fraser as a going away present. Split into the many design-based nooks and crannies of London, these guides have been a great place to start browsing, supping and eating within London.

If you're visiting London you need to get onto these.

If you’re visiting London you need to get onto these.

Not studying, and therefore having time to just amble has been heavenly and this morning I took myself off, with no destination in mind, for a wander around Hoxton, Spitalfields and Shoreditch.

Many will have heard of Spitalfields Market which borders Shoreditch and the city. There are many funky boutiques on either side of market, which today sold clothes, industrial light fittings, lots of leather, and some cool jewellery. I bought myself an amazing lamb pancake thing that tasted beautiful.

Having not much idea where I was, I stumbled across Brick Lane which most of you will know for its curry houses. Even at noon, people were flocking to eat, and I sort of regretted my lamb pancake thing. But, I’ll head back no doubt. Heading down Brick Lane towards Redchurch St I walked past lots of little antique and vintage shops; not really my thing but paradise for the vintage lover. I did spot some cool art galleries and a couple of beautiful little cafes.

A hidden food market I found through a huge door of Brick Lane.

A hidden food market I found through a huge door of Brick Lane.

Same food market

Same food market

Lets go downstairs

Lets go downstairs

Door decor in Brick Lane

Door decor in Brick Lane

Turning left into Redchurch St, which I am beginning to think will be my favourite street, I found a restaurant cum homewares store called Story Deli that interior stylist Louisa Grey had told me about. It wasn’t open, but she was right when she said I would love it. A corner store, it had white walls and amazingly high ceilings, with gorgeous neutral-based furniture and accessories. But not beige-boring, more textured heaven! I can’t wait to eat there, Louisa says the pizza is gorgeous.

Heading further down Redchurch St I passed an insanely pricy but beautifully-presented mens boutique called Hostem, which I visited last week. The fit out is beautiful; timbers and stone, very raw, simple but masculine. I asked the assistant who fitted out the store and found out it was an interior design firm called James Plumb. I contacted them, and it turns out they were only one a handful of people who have responded to my emails regarding work. By the look of Hostem, they would be an amazing agency to work for, if the opportunity came up.

This shop and cafe was amazing - Pitfield London.

This shop and cafe was amazing – Pitfield London.

What an entrance at Pitfield London

What an entrance at Pitfield London

Antlers and leopard wallpaper

Antlers and leopard wallpaper

Wallpaper at Pitfield London.

Wallpaper at Pitfield London.

There are too many places to list here such as Pitfield London (images directly above), but I am just so excited by how creative this area is. It is an instagrammers paradise, and strolling around here is the perfect way to spend a Saturday, or a Sunday.

Dishoom, Shoreditch High St

Dishoom, Shoreditch High St

The outdoor area at Dishoom, an Indian restaraunt in Shoreditch High St

The outdoor area at Dishoom, an Indian restaraunt in Shoreditch High St

Trough flowers at Dishoom

Trough flowers at Dishoom

How's that for a hairdressers entrance, Redchurch St.

How’s that for a hairdressers entrance, Redchurch St.

Franze and Evans cafe in Redchurch St

Franze and Evans cafe in Redchurch St

One response to “I Love My Area

Leave a Reply

