London is Where it’s At (if you didn’t already know)

I am very lucky. I know I am. Why? Because I am going to London in my college holidays for four weeks in September. This in itself is jel-worthy, but even better is the fact that during my stay the London Design Festival happens to be on.

There are hundreds of events on offer, spanning all disciplines of design. I can check out interiors, fabric, lighting, furnishing, fashion, art, whatever takes my fancy on any particular day.

Then there’s 100% Design, the trade interior design event taking place at Olympia as part of the London Design Festival.

We are going on a Friday, then heading straight to the airport to fly to Athens for the Mostra Rota trade fair.  After a little research, it seems that this is a must-attend homewares, gifts and accessories fair. I hope to find many new products for a potential project next year.

I also want to check out a new restaurant, Dabbous in London, which has been featured in about three design blogs in the last week. Must be good – although I will probably be more interested in the space than the food!

Dabbous

So, with seven weeks to go of this trimester, working on lighting and kitchen design, learning CAD, gaining some building knowledge, learing about visual merchandising and architectural styles, I have to stop myself from becoming too distracted and daydreaming about London!

Leave a Reply

